Truth and Claw Tournament Report

Post Tournament Write Up

Please check out my deck build here to see my thoughts.

Last minute deck alterations:

Last minute I removed Predatory Fog and added Flawless Strike back in. I also took out ferocious rampage and added bearing sigmar’s light as an objective. This meant my glory threshold was the same but I had much easier opportunities to score. I contemplated Determined Brutality and even Light of Azyr, but decided that the extra glory could be better.

Match 1 vs. Thundriks

So, the last time I played Xandire vs Thundrik I lost.  Ironhail kept pushing me all over the board and Lund’s Cleave attacks were painful.  I set up using my standard set up so I would not get pushed back (see previous article).  I missed three of my four attacks in round 1.  The only one that hit was Xandire and she took out Ironhail on activation one (hurrah!).  I scored some of my passive glory and onto round two where things got spicy.

I gave brutal transformation to Doraz who was adjacent to Thundrik.  Doraz one shotted him.  After that it went downhill for the profiteers who couldn’t put enough resources into a counterattack.

Final score was 18-9 in favor of Xandire

Match 2 vs. Lady Harrows Mournflight

I mulligan my first draw for both objectives and power cards.  What I drew was actually worse.  No accuracy cards in either draw, lots of movement buffs which I didn’t need because Harrows was coming to me.  Worse for me, my only surge was Paragon of Ferocity.  I had two shots at it with Doraz and Xandire and they both missed. I yo-yoed Xandire back out of harms way after her attempted attack with call to heel.  After that, my opponent played very well and I never got the surge train going.  Big loss for me, I believe the final score was 13-6.  My opponent played wonderfully and my draw and attack dice were poor.  

Final score 6-13 in favor of Lady Harrow’s.

Match 3 vs. Ephilim’s Pandamonium 

To be honest I was not ready for this match and it was relatively obvious.  Xandire got pinged down fast and he drew three of his spells and the resurrection gambit in his first power hand.  Ouch.  Doraz did take down Ephilim in round 2, but by then it was too little too late.  This game ran out of time at the beginning of round 3 and I lost 7-11.  It was actually 8-7 at the end of Round 2.  So I said, we have to at least play one activation next round.  We did, he won the roll off, Doraz died and that was that. 

Final score 7-11 in favor of Ephilim’s.

What would I change?

I might take out some of my move tech and add another accuracy card.  Internal surrender would fit the bill.  I didn’t take it initially because when I inspire I go to two block, but it might actually still be worth it.  Attacks not hitting were my major issue.  My objectives were good except I really don’t like bearing sigmar’s light and Focal Point.  I am going to see if I can change those.  Walk it off was incredible.  So was keepsake and gifted ferocity.  I never saw Flawless Strike so that decision to take it made literally 0 difference.  The other tough thing is I never saw Dark Command in any of my games and only saw Toyed With in my first game.  Those are two of my strongest cards and I just didn’t see them much. I had thought about throwing in determined brutality. That actually could have come in handy since I ended up playing two high dice dodge war bands. But again, who knows if that happens again.

I did misplay something in that last game. I forgot Stormrider’s reaction shot upon getting taken out of action. In the big scheme of things it made no difference. In that last round we were up against the clock so that definitely played into my forgetfulness.

I think I can get better with Xandire, but when I reflect on my losses those have more to do with dice and card draw than poor play.  

What I wouldn’t change:

This deck is great for Xandire, I would not steer away from Tooth and Claw.  The board I chose was outstanding and did exactly what I wanted it too.  Walk it off, indomitable will, brutal transformation were all surprisingly useful every single game.  Keepsake was good too. 

Summary

I didn’t win the tournament, but I don’t think it’s because Xandire’s doesn’t have the goods or my strategy was flawed.  Sometimes you just miss three hammer attacks, and sometimes you don’t see the card you really would like to see.  That’s just the way it goes!  It was a fun tournament with a lot of great plays.

One response to “Truth and Claw Tournament Report”

  1. […] tag-team writeup of the same nemesis deck at two different tournaments piloted by two different players – the […]

    Like

Leave a comment